The John Philip Sousa Foundation
Sudler Cup


To identify, recognize and honor junior high school and middle school concert band programs that have demonstrated particularly significant high standards of excellence in concert activities over a period of several years.


Nominations will be received from any source and at any time by the Sousa Foundation. The nominations will be evaluated by the selection committee established by the Sousa Foundation.

The Selection Committee is composed of successful public school and university band directors who are experienced educators at this level.

There are no specific number of schools honored each year. Nominations may be received at any time, but the actual selection is made annually in December. Bands that are approved to receive the award will be notified by the executive committee of the Sousa Foundation.

Nomination forms may be obtained by writing or click the link below:

The Sousa Foundation
"Sudler Cup" Program
345 Overlook Drive
West Lafayette, Indiana 47906

 Download Nomination form:  Sudler Cup

Bands nominated for the award will be asked to submit materials for evaluation purposes. These should include:

1. Concert programs covering the previous three or more years.

2. A recording from the previous year which should include a quickstep type march and at least two other works for band in contrasting styles.

3. Photographs of the band director and concert band. 

4. Press clippings or copies of press clippings. 

5. Solo/ ensemble participation and/ or honor band programs showing participation

6. Written recommendations from three or more band conductors of recognized national reputation who have heard the band perform recently.

7. An information form to be filled out by the conductor for use by the selection committee.  

The Award

Bands receiving The Sudler Cup will receive a beautiful silver cup with the name of the band director and school engraved on the base. The cup is approximately 12 inches in height and mounted on a handsome wood base.

The Sudler Cup will be presented to the director. An engraved plaque will be presented to the school and each member of the current concert band will received an attractive individualized diploma.


The band must have achieved and maintained a high standard of literature in the concert area over a period of several years.

The concert band will have placed itself in situations where there has been opportunity for evaluation by qualified persons or has been rated "superior" at state, regional, or national levels in concert activities.

The band should have performed at regional, state, national, and professional meetings of significance. These can include but are not limited to state music conventions, regional or national MENC meetings, and state or national band association conventions.

The director must have been incumbent in his/her position for at least seven years, including the current year.

A number of the students in the band should have participated in district and all-state honor bands or similar all-area groups.

The total program of music should exemplify what is considered a sound viable, music education program for this level of endeavor.


The award is administered by the John Philip Sousa Foundation and implemented by its executive committee.

 Sudler Cup Recipients
 Dan Black Morehead Junior High School El Paso, Texas
 Patricia Garren Asheville Junior High School Asheville, N. Carolina
 Barbara Prentice Gunn Junior High School Arlington, Texas
 David Reul Oconomowoc Junior High School Oconomowoc, Wisconsin
 W. Edward Davis Adamson Junior High School Rex, Georgia
 Frank Howe Southwestern Junior High School Lakeland, Florida
 Ron Biffle Morrow Junior High School Morrow, Georgia
 Georgene Davis Scottsbluff Junior High School Scottsbluff, Nebraska
 Marion West Richardson North Junior High School Richardson, Texas
 Ben Walker David Crockett Junior High School Odessa, Texas
 Cheryl Floyd Murchison Middle School Austin,Texas
 Richard Sanger Thoreau Intermediate School Vienna, Virginia
 Tye Ann Payne Westwood Junior High School Dallas, Texas
 Wade McDonald McAdams Junior High School Dickinson, Texas
 Carol Walther William Adams Junior High Alice, Texas
 Boniface Leon Highlands Intermediate School Pearl City, Hawaii
 Bobby Brown Hodges Bend Middle School Houston, Texas
 Benjamin Davis DeSoto West Middle School DeSoto, Texas
 Michael Tucker Pittman Middle School Hueytown, Alabama
 Jim Phillips Prairie Middle School Hutchinson, Kansas
 Noreen Linneman Herndon Middle School  Herndon, Virginia
No Recipients
 Cindy Bulloch Nimitz Junior High School Odessa, Texas
 Linda Gammon Robinson Middle School

Fairfax, Virginia

John Benzer Griffin Middle School The Colony, Texas

No Recipients

 Greg Dick  Space Center Intermediate School Houston, Texas
 J.D. Anderson Longfellow Middle School Falls Church, Virgina
David Woodard
Irmo Middle School

Irmo, South Carolina 

 Diane Gorzycki
 Daniel  Kosko
 Louis Bean   

Bailey Middle School
Frost Middle School
Lake Braddock Middle School

Austin, Texas
Fairfax, Virginia
Burke, Virginia 
Bethann Adams
First Colony Middle School

Sugar Land, Texas 
 Marcia Zofutto
 Betty Bierschenk-Pierce
Coyle Middle School
Grisham Middle School
Rowlett, Texas
Austin, Texas

 Cindy Lansford
 Ruben Garcia
North Ridge Middle School
Holub Middle School

North Richland Hills, Texas
Houston, Texas

 Joan Green
 Kyle Steffens
L.J. Alemann Middle School
Cooper Middle School

Lafayette, Louisiana
McLean, Virginia

 Chip De Stefano 
McCracken Middle School

Skokie, Illinois 

 Manuel San Luis
Cedar Park Middle School

Cedar Park, Texas
Greg Countryman
Fort Settlement Middle School

Sugar Land, Texas 


No Recipients

 Robert Herrings
Jackie Fullerton
 Donald McCandless

Artie Henry Middle School
Forbes Middle School
Space Center Middle School

Cedar Park, Texas
Georgetown, Texas
Houston, Texas

 Rory Davis
 Heath Wolf
 Mark Gurgel
 W. Everett McCann
Cinco Ranch Junior High School
Farmington Junior High School
Kealing Middle School
Fort Clarke Middle School

Katy, Texas
Farmington, Utah
Austin, Texas
Gainesville, Florida 

Susan Glover
Kim Bain

West Ridge Middle School
Pizitz Middle School

Austin, Texas
Vestavia Hills, Alabama