Medal of Honor Recipients

Col. John R. Bourgeois  1983
Conductor U.S. Marine Band
Mr. Karel Husa  1983
Composition Winner
Dr. James Dixon  1984
Benefactor, Washington, D.C.
Dr. Paul Yoder 1985
Composer, Conductor
Mr. Micahel Colgrass  1985
Composition Winner
Mr. Keith Brion  1986
Conductor New Sousa Band
Mr. Paul Bierley  1987
Author, Researcher
Prof. Traugott Rohner  1987
Author, Educator, Publisher
Prof. Dana Wilson 1987
Composition Winner
Dr. Leonard Smith  1987
Conductor Detroit Concert Band
Col. Eugene W. Allen 1989
Leader, United States Army Band
Mr. Clare Grundman  1989
Composer, Arranger
Mr. Johan deMeij  1990
Composition Winner
Col. Clifford O. Hunt  1990
Director Canadian Armed Forces Bands
Mr. James Saied  1991
"John Philip Sousa" Concerts
Mrs. Elizabeth Ludwig Fennell  1991
Publisher of Significant Band Literature
Mr. William F. Ludwig Jr.  1991
Percussionist & President Ludwig Drum Co.
Ms Barbara Buehlman  1992
Conductor, Composer, Northshore Concert Band
Capt. Frank Byme  1993
United States Marine Band
Dr. John Long  1994
Director National Hall of Fame of Distinguished Band Conductors
Dr. Dale C. Harris  1994
Founder "American School Bandmasters Assoc"
Mr. Tim Lautzenheiser 1995
Conductor, Founder of "Attitude Concepts"
Dr. Harvey Phillips  1995
Founder of "Tuba Christmas"
Dr. Max McKee  1998
Editor & Publisher "BANDWORLD" Magazine
Mr. Donald Koss  1998
Chicago Symphony Orchestra
Dr. Victor Zajec  1999
Dean, Vandercook School of Music
Col. Benny Knudson  1999
Dr. Alfred Reed 2000
Composer, Conductor
Dr. W. Francis McBeth  2000
Composer, Conductor

      Return to Order of Merit Awards